Comment From a Concerned Citizen: Our Amherst IDA Needs to Follow the Law

Mar. 12, 2019

According to the AIDA’s own written BYLAWS


Section 5. Quorum. At all meetings of the Agency, a majority of the members of the Agency shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of transacting business; provided that a smaller number may meet and adjourn to some other time or until a quorum is obtained.


So if they met and discussed this request on January 25, 2019 without a quorum, they could not vote on it.

But they ALSO could not hold a public hearing on January 25, 2019 without a quorum, so a public hearing held on that date is not official. They needed to hold an OFFICIAL public hearing before their vote on March 8, 2019!

What they probably did was rational their actions by using what they heard from the public on January 25, 2019 “as input” before the vote on March 8, 2019. Still this LOOKS and FEELS the same old slimy politics used to prevent public comment. These guys love their POWER!

2 Responses to “Comment From a Concerned Citizen: Our Amherst IDA Needs to Follow the Law”

  1. Money Talks says:

    Here are the people on the AIDA Board of Directors. These are the people who vote on developer requests. They are directly responsible for its actions. Maybe they will let US know why they do what they do.

    CARLTON N. BROCK, JR. (Term Ends 2019)
    Chief Operating Office, Greater Buffalo United Accountable Care Organization

    Vice Chairman
    STEVEN SANDERS (Term Ends 2020)
    Owner, Steven Sanders, CPA

    MICHAEL R. SZUKALA, MBA, CIA (Term Ends 2022)
    Medicaid Inspector General, Erie County

    WILLIAM W. TUYN, CGP (Term Ends 2023)
    Forbes Capretto Homes


    PHILIP S. MEYER (Term Ends 2021)

    HADAR BORDEN (Term Ends 2025)
    Program Director of Blackstone LaunchPad at University at Buffalo


  2. Money Talks says:

    According to the official ADC January 25, 2019 minutes, there were 5 members present at the meeting, but NO public input was presented. This is sufficient for a quorum.


    Carlton N. Brock, Jr.
    Steven Sanders
    Michael R. Szukala
    William W. Tuyn
    Hon. Timothy J. Drury

    Jacqualine Berger, Town Board Liaison
    David S. Mingoia, Executive Director
    Kevin J. Zanner, Hurwitz & Fine PC

    Philip Meyer
    Hadar Borden

    AIDA Staff
    Supervisor Brian Kulpa, TOA
    Maggie Hamilton Winship, TOA
    David Tytka, Uniland Development Co.